Half-Way

Posted on

Waaaahooo.  I have successfully made it to day 15 of the Whole 30.  I almost can’t believe it.  It has flown by…and has been a great experience so far.  Here are 15 things I have learned so far:

  1. It is possible to attend events with delicious food…without partaking! (Seriously…wedding cake, shower treats, Bangkok Thai, McKay’s Bakery cookies, donuts, Oreos, tortilla chips)
  2. I have more control over when and what I eat than I have ever given myself credit for.
  3. I feel much better about myself…when I treat my body with respect.
  4. I have experienced a lot fewer energy “plummets” in the late afternoons.  (I used to want to lay down on my office floor at about 3:30-4:00) Ok…I actually did a few times! 🙂
  5. The first 5 days…detoxing…sucked BAD!
  6. It is empowering to learn about my body and how to treat it properly.
  7. It is possible to not eat fast food.  (This quite possibly could fall under the “miracle” category for me.  I am was what people like to call a junk-food-junkie!
  8. Having Chase on this journey with me makes it SO MUCH EASIER!
  9. It’s fun to cook with new spices and foods.
  10. My “saving grace” foods= eggs and avocados
  11. My appetite is starting to work itself out.  I haven’t figured it out yet…but at least it’s better than having an appetite the size of Texas. (Another “miracle”)
  12. A few people think I am crazy. 🙂
  13. My friends and family have been really great support.  ESPECIALLY my CFB Coach Kristin, my lil’ bro and his GF (they started Paleo eating yesterday), and my co-workers.
  14. I am actually to a point where I am not looking forward to housing a large pepperoni pizza on day 31.
  15. I am strong enough to do this…and I’m gonna make it another 15 days without a single CHEAT!

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body.”

I Corinthians 6:19-20


About Jenni Riley

Hey! My name is Jenni Riley. I live in Abilene, Texas with my kick-A husband, Chase, and our two boxers Romo and Ruby (who are the coolest dogs on the FACE of the world)! I work in Child and Adolescent Mental Health and love it! Love my family, and love my friends that have become family. I love to be creative and crafty. My specialties are furniture and stationary. I sometimes suffer from diarrhea of the mouth when I find myself in awkward situations. I have a poor self-esteem when it comes to my body, but I’m pretty good at hiding it to most people. My close friends and husband would disagree. I love God and love people, and I am searching for peace and fulfillment….everyday. I am writing this blog as a way to share my journey with others that are on the same journey as I am. I am working toward a life of healthy eating and exercising. My main motivator is my desire to be a good example for my “in the future” children. I don’t want to pass along my horrible relationship with food and disdain for exercise to them. I hope my blog can be of some encouragement to someone, somewhere. And even if it’s not…it’s therapeutic for me to process my feelings that are so easy to bury…with food!

7 responses »

  1. Samantha Cunningham

    Jenni,
    I love reading your posts.
    Hope you are doing good!:)

    Reply
    • Samantha!!! Hey gal. It’s good to hear from you!!! I thought about you a few weeks ago on your birthday! I hope YOU are doing good too!! 🙂

      Reply
      • Samantha Cunningham

        Thank you!!! I had a fabulous birthday. FINALLY EIGHTEEN!

        I really miss seeing your beautiful smile:)

  2. Love this post!!!! Couldn’t be more proud of you Jenni! So few people have the courage and will power to change their lives, and you have done it all with a smile on your face! I think you will find the next 15 days to be just as enlightening as the first 15 have been.
    Best of luck to you and Chase (and your bro and his girlfriend!!)

    Reply
  3. You are such an inspiration to me!!!

    Reply
    • Thanks Nicki!!! You have always been an inspiration to me….no doubt. I find it amazing how you have picked up running and put your heart into it. It has been fun and inspiring to keep up with your journey and all the ups, downs, successes and let downs along the way. Real life. I love it! You are pretty amazing Girlfriend!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

